John Anderson worked 15 years for insurance companies before practicing law.
Now let him work for you.
Defending You From Day One
Obtain High Quality, Zealous Legal Assistance for Misdemeanor Charges
Like all other states, Colorado divides crimes into two categories – felonies and misdemeanors. Felonies are more serious crimes, like murder or the possession of controlled dangerous substances. Misdemeanors are less serious crimes, like petty theft, however, this does not mean that that being convicted of a misdemeanor in Colorado is nothing to worry about.
. If you have been charged with a misdemeanor, it is important that you obtain quality legal help as soon as possible to protect your rights under the law.
Class 3 Misdemeanor
A class 3 misdemeanor is the least severe of all Colorado misdemeanor classifications.
Minimum Penalty: $50 fine
Maximum Penalty: 6 months in jail and/or a $750 fine
Class 3 misdemeanors can include but are not limited to:
Theft of an object valued at less than $100
Abandonment of a motor vehicle
Class 2 Misdemeanor
A class 2 misdemeanor is considered more serious than a class 3 misdemeanor, but not as serious as a class 1 misdemeanor.
Minimum Penalty: 3 months in a county jail and/or a $250 fine
Maximum Penalty: 12 months in a county jail and/or a $1000 fine
Class 2 misdemeanors can include but are not limited to:
Theft of property more than $300 but less than $750
Issuing a false financial statement
Harboring a minor
Violating a protection order
Unlawfully carrying a concealed weapon
Class 1 Misdemeanor
A class 1 misdemeanor is considered to be the most serious
type of misdemeanor.
6 months in a county jail and/or a $500 fine
18 months incarceration and/or a $5000 fine
Class 1 misdemeanors can include but are not limited to:
Third degree assault
Unlawful sexual contact (non violent)
Theft of trade secrets
Misdemeanors with an Extraordinary Risk of Harm
If any class of misdemeanor is considered to have an extraordinary risk of harm, the defendant who is convicted will have the possibility of facing:
Minimum Penalty: 6 months in a county jail and/or a $500 fine
Maximum Penalty: 24 months incarceration and/or a $5000 fine
Misdemeanors that have an extraordinary risk of harm include but are not limited to:
Third degree assault
Unlawful sexual contact
Second and subsequent violations of a restraining order
Refusal to register as a sex offender
Regardless of what class of misdemeanor you were charged with, you stand to incur harsh penalties if you are convicted. It is critical that you reach out to an experienced Colorado misdemeanor defense attorney as soon as possible after learning of the accusations against you in order to protect state given rights.
Contact John Anderson Today
Have you or a loved one been charged with a misdemeanor crime? If so, your future, your reputation, and your relationships are at stake. John Anderson has experience working with clients who have been charged with Class 1, 2, and 3 misdemeanors and can provide you with comprehensive legal support during this challenging time.
John Anderson will thoroughly investigate all the facts in your case in order to develop a strong defense that is designed to meet the prosecution at every turn in your case. He will zealously petition the court to have the charges against you reduced or dismissed entirely by presenting your case in the best possible light.
Contact John Anderson today to discuss your legal needs in detail by calling (303) 880-7994 for a consultation.