John Anderson worked 15 years for insurance companies before practicing law.
Now let him work for you.
Defending You From Day One
Get Legal Help Now After Being Charged With a Drug Crime
Despite the recent legalization of recreational marijuana in Colorado, drug crimes remain harshly penalized. If you are found in possession of illegal drugs, such as cocaine or heroin, you will face potential jail time, hefty fines, community service, probation, and a permanent criminal record. Additionally, being convicted of a drug crime will have significant negative effects on your relationships, career, and your reputation.
Possession of Controlled Dangerous Substances
The possession of all controlled dangerous substances, not including marijuana, is considered a felony in the state of Colorado. What class of felony the defendant is charged with depends on the circumstances surrounding the possession, such as how much of the substance the defendant was found to be in possession of.
Class 6 Felony:Possession of less than and up to four grams of a schedule I or schedule II substance (e.g. heroin or LSD)
Class 6 Felony: Possession of less than and up to two grams of any substance containing methamphetamines
Class 4 Felony: Possession of more than four grams of a schedule I or schedule II substance
Class 4 Felony: Possession of more than four grams of any substance containing methamphetamines
If you are convicted of a class 6 felony possession, you stand to incur between 1-2 years incarceration and/or a fine of $1,000-$100,000.
If you are convicted of a class 4 felony possession, you stand to incur between 2-6 years incarceration and/or a fine of $2000-$500,000.
Possession of Drug Paraphernalia
In Colorado, the possession of drug paraphernalia is considered a petty offense and punished only by a maximum fine of $100.
Sale of Controlled Dangerous Substances
The sale of controlled dangerous substances is a felony in the state of Colorado, and is punished much more harshly than possession.
Class 5 Felony: Sale of a schedule IV substance (e.g. Xanax or Darvocet)
Class 4 Felony: Sale of a schedule III substance (e.g. Tylenol with codeine)
Class 3 Felony: Sale of a schedule I or II substance (e.g. heroin, LSD, cocaine, methamphetamines, Fentanyl, Ritalin, and Adderall)
If you are convicted of a class 5 felony sale, you stand to incur 1-4 years incarceration and/or a fine of $1,000-$100,000.
If you are convicted of a class 4 felony sale, you stand to incur between 2-6 years incarceration and/or a fine of $2000-$500,000.
If you are convicted of a class 3 felony sale, you stand to incur between 4-12 years incarceration and/or a fine of $3000-$750,000.
With Colorado’s new stance on medical and recreational marijuana, marijuana possession and sale is treated differently than other controlled dangerous substances, even though marijuana remains a federal schedule I controlled substance.
Possession of 1-2 Ounces of Marijuana: The possession of over one ounce but less than two ounces of marijuana in Colorado is considered a petty offense. If the defendant is charged and convicted, he or she would be required to pay a fine of $100.
Possession of 2-6 Ounces of Marijuana: The possession of two ounces but less than six ounces of marijuana is considered a class 2 misdemeanor. If the defendant is convicted, he or she would face 3-12 months in jail and/or a fine of $250-$1000.
Possession of larger amounts of marijuana results in increased penalties, however, possession of less than one ounce is not considered a crime in Colorado.
Sale of Marijuana: The sale of marijuana becomes a crime when it is sold to a minor. Penalties are significant and can include both fines and incarceration, and become even more stringent if the minor is under the age of 15.
Cultivation of Marijuana: If you are over the age of 21, it is legal for you to cultivate up to 6 marijuana plants for personal use under Colorado’s new laws. Cultivation of more than 6 plants is considered a felony and is punishable by both fines and incarceration.
When to Contact a Colorado Drug Attorney
The punishments for being convicted of a drug charge in Colorado are harsh. Not only will you have the possibility of incurring a jail or prison sentence and thousands of dollars in fines, your career, reputation, and relationships will suffer. A drug conviction means that you will have a permanent criminal record, which has the potential to negatively affect your ability to get a job, rent a house, or even obtain a home or car loan.
An experienced criminal defense attorney can help you stand up to the charges against you with the most compelling evidence possible. By utilizing a variety of tools, resources, and creative defenses, your attorney may be able to have the charges against you reduced or dismissed entirely.
If you have been accused of committing a drug crime in Colorado, your future hinges on contacting a drug crimes attorney as quickly as possible.
Call John Anderson Today
Have you or a loved one been charged with a drug crime? If so, your future, your reputation, and your relationships are at stake. John Anderson has experience working with clients who have been charged with drug crimes and can provide you with comprehensive legal support during this challenging time.
John Anderson will thoroughly investigate all the facts in your case in order to develop a strong defense that is designed to meet the prosecution at every turn in your case. He will aggressively petition the court to have the charges against you reduced or dismissed entirely by presenting your case in the best possible light.
Contact John Anderson today to discuss your legal needs in detail by calling (303) 880-7994 for a consultation.