If you are wondering about federal programs to help the disabled, you may have heard of Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) and Supplemental Security Income (SSI). While these two programs sound similar, they have some significant differences.
In Colorado, alcohol and drug related offenses remain on your record indefinitely. This means that when the court is reviewing your criminal history for “priors” to determine if you should be charged with a misdemeanor or felony, any DWAI, drunk driving, vehicular assault, or vehicular homicide convictions on your record will count, regardless of how long ago they occurred.
In 2015, Colorado passed a law that made a fourth DUI conviction an automatic felony. This means that if you have three prior DUI or DWAI convictions, and are arrested for drunk driving, you face felony charges. It’s also important to remember that if you have DUI convictions from other states or U.S. territories, they count as prior DUI offenses here in Colorado.
If convicted of a 4th DUI in Colorado, you face fourth degree penalty charges punishable by 2-6 years in the state prison as well as a fine of $2,000 to $500,000. Additionally, after your prison sentence, you will face a mandatory 3 years of parole.
Here are some tips for improving the chances your Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) application will be approved.
There is no guarantee you will be approved for SSDI benefits even if you are disabled. Each disability and case history is unique. The application you submit goes a long way to increasing—or diminishing—the odds your request for benefits will be approved.
If you are in the middle of a worker’s compensation claim, it is not uncommon to wonder: “Do I really need a worker’s comp attorney?” The simple and short answer is that the moment that your case becomes complex, you should at the very least seek experienced legal counsel. To help you better understand why, here are a few common scenarios where it makes sense to have a consultation with a lawyer.
If you are convicted of a DUI in Colorado, your license can be revoked by the court and/or the DMV independently. Typically, your license will be suspended immediately by the officer that arrests you and you will be issued a temporary seven-day license. In order to avoid automatic suspension, you must request a hearing within those seven days with the Colorado DMV.
It is best to hire a DUI attorney as early in the process of dealing with your DUI charge as possible. If you choose to represent yourself in a DUI case and do not hire a lawyer, you risk having a substantially worse outcome in your case.
It is not uncommon to wonder what degree of disability you may have if you find yourself unable to complete or perform mental or physical tasks that once seemed effortless for you. Knowing what these degrees might be can help you better determine your next course of action. Getting approved for disability can be an arduous process. To help you better determine your odds, use these FAQ’s on the degrees of disability, and call our law firm if you have further questions to arrange for a consultation.
Many people get their first exposure to the criminal justice system in their state when they are arrested and charged with DUI. For those people, this critical moment can have a significant impact on the rest of their life. Those same people often feel that since it is their first offense that an experienced lawyer is not necessary.