The state of Colorado takes alcohol- and drug-related driving offenses seriously for all people. Driving laws exist to keep the roads as safe as possible, and operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or other substances is only jeopardizing the safety of everyone who shares the road.
So for those whose profession is driving—i.e., those who carry commercial driver’s licenses (CDLs) and often spend the most time on the road—DUI and other related offenses can carry the most extreme consequences, including loss of commercial driving privileges.
What charges could lead to loss of my CDL?
Typical driving offenses that would lead to criminal charges for non-commercial drivers are also offenses for those who carry CDLs—and in fact, even if you possess a CDL but are not operating a commercial vehicle at the time of your arrest, you could still face penalties on your CDL.
Consider the following offenses that could lead to loss of your commercial driver’s license in Colorado:
- Driving under the influence (DUI), or driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) over the legal limit of .08 percent
- Driving under the influence of drugs
- Driving a commercial vehicle while your BAC is .04 percent (the legal limit for commercial driving)
- Refusing to submit to a blood or chemical BAC test
- Fleeing the scene of an accident
- Driving with an invalid, suspended, or expired CDL
What penalties affect my CDL if I’m convicted of DUI?
In addition to the penalties and personal driver’s license suspension you may face upon a DUI conviction in Colorado, your commercial driving privileges will also be suspended temporarily or permanently, depending on the number of offenses you’ve committed and any other aggravating factors:
- On a first DUI or related offense, your CDL will be revoked for, at minimum, one year. If you were transporting hazardous materials when arrested for DUI, the minimum suspension increases to three years. If your BAC was .15 percent or higher, you will have to install an ignition interlock device and complete certain related requirements before your CDL is reinstated.
- On a second or subsequent DUI or related offense, you face lifetime revocation of your CDL. After ten years, you may be able to apply for reinstatement.
Consult a DUI defense lawyer for help protecting your CDL
A DUI conviction could mean loss of your livelihood if you drive for a living. With help from a qualified Adams County DUI attorney you may be able to avoid conviction and save your standing as a commercial driver.
To learn more about your rights, contact the Law Office of John A. Anderson, Jr., LLC online or call (303) 880-7994 and schedule a consultation.