According to new statistics, fatal work-related accidents increased in Colorado in 2016, the most recent year for which statistics are available.
Workplace accidents injure and claim lives every year.In 2015, 75 people died due to workplace accident. In 2016, the fatality figure rose to 81 people.While some workplaces are inherently dangerous—like roadwork or construction sites—accidents and injuries occur every day across industry.
Looking at worksite injury and fatality figures identifies trends and areas where increased attention to safety is needed.Construction has long been considered a dangerous occupation.In 2015, there were 21 construction deaths which represented an increase of 62 percent from the year before.Following that deadly year, construction fatalities declined to 12, a 43 percent decrease from the year before.Still—that is 12 people who died due to the work they did for a living.
Other Fatal Injury Statistics Include:
While construction led industry in workplace deaths in 2015, fatalities associated with transportation was the leading cause of fatal accidents in 2016.The 48 people who died in transportation-related jobs represented 59 percent of the 81 workplace fatalities in 2016.Of these, 33 occurred on roadways.
Of the 81 total deaths, 13 were caused by violence, or injuries by people or animals.
Falls, trips, and slipping caused eight deaths in 2016.
Six people died from striking objects or equipment, and six others died due to other causes.
Men overwhelmingly represent the gender most likely to fall victim to a fatal workplace accident.Of the 81 worker deaths, 75 were men.
People between the ages of 55 and 64 suffered the most fatal injuries—with 22 deaths counted in 2016.
Leading sectors for fatal injury included transportation, utilities, and professional and business services.The natural resource and mining sector suffered nine deaths.
When a worker suffers any kind of injury, an employer is required to notify their workers’ comp insurance provider within ten days. When there is a fatal injury or an accident that involves three or more employees, notice to the insurer is required immediately.
If you are injured and are out of work for three days or three shifts, or suffer a disabling injury, you should receive notice from the insurer within 20 days after notice from your employer.
If your claim is denied, or if you do not receive notice of the decision in your case—be sure to speak with an experienced workers’ comp attorney for legal support getting your claim corrected or reconsidered.
Compassionate Legal Care When You are out of Work with an Injury
With few exceptions, all employees in Colorado are entitled to workers’ comp benefits if they are injured or made ill on the job.If you are denied benefits for which you are eligible, contact the Law Office of John A. Anderson, Jr., LLC.
We offer reputable, rapid legal service to help you get the compensation to which you are entitled. Call (303) 880-7994 or contact us to schedule a free initial consultation to discuss your case.