In recent years, Colorado has added new DUI laws and increased the penalties for driving while under the influence. Law enforcement is more vigilant than ever and determined to deter motorists from drinking and driving.
These are a few of the reasons Colorado has a reputation for being tough on DUIs:
- DWAIs are a thing: In most states, if your BAC is .08 percent or over, and you are operating a motor vehicle, you can be charged with a DUI. In Colorado, you are guilty of committing “driving while ability impaired” (DWAI) if your BAC is .05-.079. A DWAI conviction goes on your permanent record and is punishable by jail time and fines.
- No look back period: Many states have a look back period for DUIs where older offenses are no longer considered as “priors.” Colorado has no look back period. If you are convicted of a DUI when you are 20, and then are arrested for drunk driving when you are 40, it counts as a second DUI.
- 4th DUIs are felonies: A recently passed law has made it so that any 4th DUI is an automatic felony. Since Colorado has no look back period, any DUI or DWAI on your record counts as a prior. If convicted of a 4th degree felony for a 4th DUI, you face up to six years in state prison and up to $500,000 in fines.
- License suspension: For your first DUI offense, you face a license suspension of 9 months.
Colorado law enforcement officers are serious about stopping and arresting anyone suspected of drunk driving. If you are charged with a DUI or DWAI, remain calm and contact a lawyer. A seasoned criminal defense attorney can quickly protect your rights and help you build an effective defense strategy.
John Anderson delivers high-quality legal service to DUI and DWAI defendants throughout Colorado. Call (303) 880-7994 or contact us today to schedule a consultation to discuss your case with an experienced defense attorney.